Resource Selection 2024-2026

Resource Selection
 

Goal

Support education, enhance economic development, and improve the quality of life of North Carolinians by procuring as much relevant, high-quality digital content as possible.

Selection Criteria

All selections will be based on the following key criteria:

Value across COIs
Cost per use
Accessibility
Quantity of content for $
User experience
Change cost to community
Quality of content for $
 
 

Process

 
Resource selections will be made based on community input and expert assessment. We will solicit recommendations via a survey open to every library staff person at every member institution across the state. Every recommendation will be considered and assessed by the Resource Advisory Committee (RAC), which consists of three representatives from each of NC LIVE’s four Communities of Interest (COIs). Recommendations from the RAC will be reviewed and approved by the Librarians’ Council (LC), which consists of COI representatives, committee chairs, and the State Librarian of NC.
 

Roles

The RAC will be divided into three (3) teams comprised of four (4) members per team.  Each team will have one (1) member per Community of Interest (COI).  Additionally, NC LIVE staff, the full Resource Advisory Committee (RAC), and University of North Carolina General Administration (UNC-GA) will have defined sets of responsibilities.

1.   Data Team (DT)

Assess available quantitative and qualitative data about current and potential new resources. Provide data-driven input to the assessment teams.

  • Searches for assessment data about potential resources compiled by other consortia or libraries and available on the web.

2.    New Resources Nomination & Assessment Team (NRNAT)

Investigate potential new resources and nominate those that demonstrate the potential to support NC LIVE’s member libraries.

  • Solicits ideas from community, as well as via their own investigations.

Evaluate potential resources based on agreed-upon criteria.

  • Recommends top-rated resources for pricing.

3.    Current Resources Assessment Team (CRAT)

Evaluate current resources based on agreed-upon criteria.

  • Recommends top-rated resources for renewal.
  • Recommends low-rated resources for discontinuation and/or replacement with similar, but superior resource.

NC LIVE Staff

  • Liaise with and support three teams; communicate with vendors; get pricing; negotiate terms; execute contracts; liaise with the NC LIVE Librarians Council (LC); manage communications with NC LIVE community.

Full RAC

Reviews final list of proposed resources and makes recommendation to the LC.

UNC General Administration

Assists with review of licenses and signs contracts on behalf of NC LIVE.

Librarians' Council

Reviews RAC’s recommendation and makes final decision on resources.

Timeline & Key Milestones

  • Milestone 1:  Agree on selection process & roles (July '22)
  • Milestone 2:  Agree on current & new resources (Jan ’23)
  • Milestone 3:  Resource Assessment & Comparison(March ’23).
  • Milestone 4:  Finalize selection decisions (May ’23)
  • Milestone 5:  Finalize contracts/Begin communications (Aug ’23)
  • Milestone 6:  Training (Fall ’23)
  • Milestone 7:  Official start date of new cycle (Jan 1, 2024)

Contact a COI representative on the RAC

  • CHAIR: Jennifer Arnold, Central Piedmont Community College (email: jennifer.arnold [at] cpcc.edu)
  • Jess Bellemer, Lees-McRae College (email: bellemerj [at] lmc.edu)
  • Jennifer Brosek, UNC-Charlotte (email: jbrosek [at] uncc.edu)
  • David Bryden, High Point University (email: dbryden [at] highpoint.edu)
  • Rishara Finsel, Transylvania County Library (email: rishara.finsel [at] transylvaniacounty.org)
  • Rich Garafolo, Lenoir Community College (email: rmgarafolo48 [at] lenoircc.edu)
  • Ross Holt, Randolph County Public Library (email: rholt [at] randolphlibrary.org)
  • Virginia March, Onslow County Public Library (email: virginia_march [at] onslowcountync.gov)
  • Megan Rudolph, Wake Technical Community College (email: mrudolph [at] waketech.edu)
  • Joan Ruelle, Elon University (email: jruelle [at] elon.edu)
  • Tiffany Russell, North Carolina A&T State University (email: tbrussel [at] ncat.edu)
  • Joseph Thomas, East Carolina University (email: thomasw [at] ecu.edu)

Suggest a resource